Using a Map on your Scrapbook Page

Well, the Simple Scrapper team challenged us to create a layout using a map. No other requirements, any kind of map, or incorporate map products. Totally up to the creator’s interpretation.

Here is what I came up with. I reviewed my pictures of what I have in my “still need to scrap” collection and realized that I hadn’t yet finished scrapping my sister-in-law’s last visit. We always try to do something a little fun and it’s a bonus if we take in the sites. We opted for a little day trip up to Montezuma’s Well. So I went to Google Maps and input my search criteria and captured a screen shot.

Here is what I ended up with. You can click on the image to see the credits in the gallery.

Simple Scrapper July2012 Single 3 Template<br />AASPN_ArtPlayPaletteBarrenSunrise_Alphas<br />AASPN_ArtPlayPalettePlayOut<br />TDD_EverydayLife_Bonus_Washi_yellow<br />lynng-venicebeach-alpha<br />onelittlebird-scenes chevron border, washi tape<br />Font: Traveling Typewriter

For this layout, I started with a template from the Simple Scrapper July 2012 Premium Template collection. I combined the separate photos into one for this. I used the big photo spot for my map image. I’m thinking this will be my title page for the photos I took on this trip.

You might notice that I used a little blending on this one. I used a gradient mask that I clipped both the map and a paper to, and you can see that I also applied a blend mode to the paper:

Map Layers

I hope this inspires you to try something with a map, or even a little masking and/or blending. These are truly some of my favorite Photoshop tools.

The Premium Membership at Simple Scrapper provides skills and shortcuts to help you simplify and find more meaning in your memory keeping.

Leave a Reply

